ARPC has a non-executive Chair and six other non-executive Members, who are all appointed by the Minister under the Terrorism Insurance Act 2003.

ARPC Board Charter                             ARPC Audit, Compliance, Committee Charter

Below are the current Members of the Board and a snapshot of their experience.

Mr Ian Carson AM, Chair

BEc, PGDip Professional Accounting, FAICD

Term: 1 July 2017 – 30 June 2023

Mr Ian Carson was reappointed Chair of the Board on 23 April 2020.

Ian is Chairman of Markets at PwC. Previously Ian was Chair of PPB Advisory, a professional advisory firm, of which he was a founding partner.

Ian is co-founder of SecondBite, a for purpose organisation which rescues nutritious food that would otherwise go to landfill. SecondBite transformed Australia by creating scale in fresh food rescue. Ian is President of The Victorian Arts Centre Trust and Trustee of The Melbourne Cricket Ground. In 2017, Ian was awarded an Order of Australia for his work in Food Rescue and Business. In 2018, together with his wife Simone, he was appointed ‘Melbournian of the Year’.

Ms Elaine Collins, Member

BSc (Hons), MEc, FIAA, GAICD

Term: 1 July 2015 – 30 June 2021; 1 July 2021 - 30 June 2024

Ms Elaine Collins was reappointed a Member of the Board on 1 July 2021 and is a member of the Audit, Risk and Compliance Committee.

Elaine is a non-executive director and actuary, with a career spanning 25 years in the insurance industry in Australia, New Zealand, Hong Kong, Singapore and Papua New Guinea.

She is a non-executive Director of Zurich Insurance Australia Ltd (ZAIL) and Chair of its Risk, Compliance and Audit Committee. 

Elaine is a Fellow of the Actuaries Institute and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. She is a member of the Actuaries Institute’s Professional Standards Committee and a Professor of Practice at the University of New South Wales.

She served in senior roles with KPMG and as a Partner with Deloitte, carrying out Appointed Actuary roles for more than ten years, with key expertise in strategic risk management, policy formulation and capital efficiency

Ms Robin Low, Member


Term: 5 October 2016 - 4 October 2019; 23 April 2020 - 22 April 2023

Ms Robin Low was reappointed a Member of the Board on 23 April 2020 and is the Chair of the Audit, Risk and Compliance Committee from 1 July 2021. 

Robin is a non-executive director. She is on the boards of four ASX listed companies: Appen Limited, AUB Group Limited, IPH Limited and Marley Spoon AG. She is also on the boards of three not-for-profit companies: Guide Dogs NSW/ACT, Primary Ethics and Public Education Foundation. She is a past deputy chairman of the Auditing and Assurance Standards Board. 

Ms Maria Fernandez, Member


Term: 23 April 2020 - 22 April 2023

Ms Maria Fernandez has a distinguished career in the public sector. From 2015 to 2019, she was Deputy Secretary, Intelligence and Capability with the Department of Home Affairs. Before that, Maria was Director (CEO) of the Australian Geospatial Intelligence Organisation. Maria’s experience also includes the cyber threat environment through an earlier role as Deputy Director Intelligence at the Australian Signals Directorate, and Maria was the first female head of an Australian intelligence agency.

Maria was awarded a Public Service Medal for outstanding public service in advancing Australia’s interests. Maria is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and is a graduate of the Harvard Business School Advanced Management Program.

Mr David Foster


Term: 16 December 2021 - 15 December 2024 

Mr David Foster is a Brisbane-based Non-Executive Director with a diverse portfolio of Directorships and Advisory roles.

David's last senior executive role was CEO of Suncorp Bank. In addition to five and a half years as CEO of Suncorp Bank, David served in other senior roles including Group Executive, Strategy during the acquisition of Promina - one of Australia's largest financial services transactions.

Before Suncorp, David worked at Westpac for 14 years in several senior roles in Sydney and Queensland.

He is currently a Non-Executive Director at Youi Insurance, Genworth and Bendigo and Adelaide Bank and Chairman of Motorcycle Holdings Ltd and G8 Education Ltd.

David holds a Bachelor of Applied Science from the University of Southern Queensland and a Master of Business Administration (MBA) from Southern Cross University. He is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (GAICD), a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Management (FAIM) and has attended programs at Wharton, IMD, MIT and INSEAD

Ms Julie-Anne Schafer


Term: 14 September 2021 - 13 September 2024

Ms. Julie-Anne Schafer was appointed to the ARPC Board as a part-time Member for a three-year term, commencing 14 September 2021.

Ms Schafer is a Brisbane-based director and qualified lawyer with experience across the insurance, superannuation, energy, water, transport and health sectors. She is currently a Non-Executive Director at Queensland Urban Utilities, C S Energy, and Av Super. She is also President of the National Competition Council, a Treasury portfolio agency.

Her career also includes retail consumer insurance and cyclone risk experience through her past roles as President of RACQ and Chair of RACQ Insurance, and as a Non-Executive Director for the Territory Insurance Office.

Ms Schafer holds a Bachelor of Laws with Honours (LL.B. Hons) from the University of Queensland and is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. She is also a member of the Australian and New Zealand Institute of Insurance and Finance (ANZIIF).

Mr Jan van der Schalk, Member

BA, MPhil

Term: 1 July 2021 - 20 June 2024

Mr Jan van der Schalk was appointed to the Board on 1 July 2021. 

Jan has deep experience in reinsurance and investment management. He is currently an Environmental and Social Governance (ESG) Investment Specialist with Platinum Asset Management. Previously he worked for fund manager Ausbil and Hong Kong based investment group CLSA in equities analyst roles.

Earlier in his career, Jan was part of a team which founded and built property catastrophe specialist, ACE Tempest Reinsurance where he was Chief Underwriting Officer (International). He also served as CEO of Asset Management and Reinsurance at Insurance Australia Group (IAG) for seven years.

As an entrepreneur, Jan also founded Just-Ezi, an internet-based car insurance comparison site.