• Print
  • Email
  • Print
  • Increase Font
  • Decrease Font

ARPC Chair term expiry and search

Joan Fitzpatrick, Chair of Australian Reinsurance Pool Corporation (ARPC), has today confirmed that she will not be seeking reappointment as Chair when her current term expires on 30 June 2017. Ms Fitzpatrick was first appointed to the Board on 12 September 2012 and then appointed Chair on 1 January 2013.

“I would like to take the opportunity to say how privileged I feel to have chaired ARPC, given its vitally important role and purpose. I am proud to say the organisation has evolved and prospered during my term as Chair and is well positioned for the future,” Ms Fitzpatrick said. “The scheme remains fit for purpose with regard to its coverage and readiness to respond to a Declared Terrorist Incident (DTI).”

Ms Fitzpatrick commended ARPC saying “I believe that the organisation is in a very good position with a strongly capable Board, an excellent CEO and leadership team, and highly capable staff; indeed the ARPC is much admired by its peers globally.”

Dr Christopher Wallace, ARPC Chief Executive, has paid tribute to Ms Fitzpatrick’s contribution as ARPC Chair, in particular, for leading the organisation through the 2015 Triennial Review by Treasury, the transfer of operations to a new Sydney office in 2016, and scheme improvements that will be implemented in 2017. Dr Wallace also commended Ms Fitzpatrick for leading a high performing Board.

“Joan Fitzpatrick is a highly motivated and visionary Chair and will be greatly missed,” said Dr Wallace. “We wish her every success in her future endeavours.”

ARPC has appointed board search firm Derwent Executive to assist with the search process for a new ARPC Chair. The same firm will also assist with the recruitment of a new Board member to replace long-serving ARPC Board member Tom Karp, whose term expires in September 2017.

For media enquiries, please contact Dr Christopher Wallace, ARPC Chief Executive, on +61 2 8223-6777.