Postcode Downloads

Postcode Downloads

The All Postcodes table below lists all of the current Australian postcodes and their associated tiers. 

The Summary of Postcode Tier Classification changes lists the changes that will be introduced to postcode tier classification effective 1 January 2018.

The All Postcodes effective 2018 is a master postcode table which will replace the All Postcodes table on 1 January 2018.


Excel Spreadsheet

Word Document
All postcodes 28KB  
Summary of Postcode Tier Classification changes being introduced from 1 January 2018   157KB
All postcodes effective 2018 52KB   

ARPC’s premiums are set using three tiered rates specified by postcode of location of the insured property.  Tiers are representative of risk and are based on population density being:

Tier A: CBD areas of Australian cities with a population of over one million;

Tier B: Urban areas of all State capital cities and cities with a population of over 100,000;

Tier C: Those postcodes not allocated to either tier A or B.

ARPC regularly reviews the list of postcodes to determine if there has been adequate development throughout Australia to warrant adjustments to the tier classification for each postcode. 

The most recent review was based on up to date population statistics and resulted in several changes to the tier classification.  The adjustments that will take effect on 1 January 2018 are as follows:

  • Newly classified urban region – Toowoomba and Cairns now meet the definition of an urban area. Therefore one postcode in Toowoomba and five postcodes in Cairns that were classified as Tier C have been reclassified as Tier B postcodes.
  • New urban fringes – 61 postcodes at the borders of urban areas that are now undergoing substantial development, have been reclassified as Tier B. The most notable changes are south of Perth where the Rockingham area has now been included.
  • New postcodes – there are 13 new postcodes that have now been classified. Please note that the University of Adelaide has not been given its own postcode which is classified as Tier A.
  • Corrections – we have revised the tier for five postcodes. This includes adjusting university postcodes from Tier C to Tier B, attributed to their location.